Artist: The Freexielanders     Album: Looking Back, Playing Forward     Label: Rudi     Code: RRJ1032

Looking Back, Playing Forward

  • Looking Back, Playing Forward

  • The Freexielanders

  • 27 October 2016

  • RRJ1032

  • 8058456240367

  • Rudi

  • No covers downloadable for Guests

No tracks downloadable for Guests

  • Total views : 3485

  • Today views : 1

  • Created on : 31 October 2016

  • Total songs : 11

  • Total comments : 0

  • From: Rudi

Press Release

A little All Star composed of musicians from different generations and different environments of the Italian less aligned Jazz scene. Musicians, often associated to the field of the experimental music, among whom masters Giancarlo Schiaffini and Eugenio Colombo, who, under the name of Freexielanders, choose to look back at their roots. Looking Back, Playing Forward – A programmatic title for an assorted repertoire that, from Jelly Roll Morton’s New Orleans and Scott Joplin’s syncopated rhythm, deviates to the film music of master Felice Montagnini and to the very Dutch Swing of Misha Mengelberg to finally rejoin Duke Ellington’s indigo spirit. A refined, exotic, imaginary sound skillfully played between present, past and future.

Booklet with Liner Notes by Bruno Tommaso

Track List

  1. St. James Infirmary/Gotta get to St. Joe (Joe Primrose/Joe Bishop) (7:59)
  2. On the Banks of the Wabash (Paul Dresser) (6:10)
  3. Peer’s Country Song (Misha Mengelberg arr. by E. Colombo) (4:19)
  4. Come Sunday (Duke Ellington, arr. by G. Schiaffini) (6:04)
  5. Voci del Deserto (Felice Montagnini) (5:20)
  6. Mood Indigo (Duke Ellington, arr. by G. Schiaffini) (5:08)
  7. Black Maria (Fred Rose) (5:51)
  8. Yardbird Shuffle (James A. Noble) (4:35)
  9. Cannonball Blues (Jelly Roll Morton, arr. by E. Colombo) (4:31)
  10. Sabor de Habanera (Giancarlo Schiaffini) (3:50)
  11. The Great Crush Collision March (Scott Joplin, arr. G. Schiaffini) (4:50)
  12. (with a Malus Track in more)


Aurelio Tontini, trumpet
Giancarlo Schiaffinitrombone
Eugenio Colombo, alto sax
Errico De Fabritiis, tenor sax
Alberto Popolla, clarinet, alto clarinet
Francesco Lo Cascio, vibraphone
Gianfranco Tedeschi, double bass
Nicola Raffone, drums

Recording Data

Recorded the 13-14th December 2015 by Lucio Leoni, Monkey Studios, Rome
Mixed and mastered April 2016, Francesco Lo Cascio & Lucio Leoni, Monkey Studios, Rome
Cover photo by Alessandro Carpentieri
Booklet photo by Pasquale Bonifazi Art by Ale Sordi
All Rights Reserved © + ? Rudi Records 2016

More Albums From Rudi