Artist: Comanda Barabba     Album: Jazz Resistant     Label: Rudi     Code: RRJ1014

Jazz Resistant

  • Jazz Resistant

  • Comanda Barabba

  • 04 June 2013

  • RRJ1014

  • 8058456240152

  • Digital, Rudi

  • No covers downloadable for Guests

No tracks downloadable for Guests

  • Total views : 5761

  • Today views : 1

  • Created on : 05 June 2013

  • Total songs : 9

  • Total comments : 0

  • From: Rudi

Press Release


With the release of Jazz Resistant, the band Comanda Barabba's second album, Rudi Records once again dives deep into the heart of Italian underground jazz. Comanda Barabba has been active for over a decade, drawing inspiration and strength from the collective work of its five musicians: Tim Trevor-Briscoe and Christian Ferlaino (saxophones and clarinets), Nicola Guazzaloca (piano), Luca Bernard (double bass) and Gaetano Alfonsi (drums). The ensemble bears testimony to the rich creative jazz scene of Bologna, where new and vibrant solutions continue to be forged. The jazz of Comanda Barabba is open, incisive and unashamedly omnivorous. The compositions by each member of the band branch out naturally from strong roots in collective improvisation.

A music which proudly resists mainstream clichès and which vibrates freely between the traditional and the avantguarde.

Track List

1. Cuor di Banana (Guazzaloca) 3.13  
2. La Trasfusione (Ferlaino) 8.20  
3. Goulash Mood (Trevor-Briscoe) 5.25  
4. Fireman Breakfast (Guazzaloca) 4.44  
5. Golden Turkey Cake (Guazzaloca) 7.04  
6. Sad Cat (Trevor-Briscoe) 5.05  
7. Don K e la vita degli altri (Ferlaino) 6.36  
8. Annì (Bernard) 7.36  
9. Barbaleo (Alfonsi) 5.53  


Comanda Barabba

Tim Trevor-Briscoe: alto sax, clarinet
Christian Ferlaino: baritone sax, alto sax
Nicola Guazzaloca: piano
Luca Bernard: double bass
Gaetano Alfonsi: drums, percussion

Recording Data

Recorded for Rai Radiotre Suite Jazz

February 25, 2011, Rome

Sala A - Centro Produzioni Radio Rai

More Albums From Rudi